Primal Scream - Screamadelica

Primal Scream - Screamadelica

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Old price £79.99
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Primal Scream - Screamadelica
Screamadelica album cover.jpg
Studio album by
 Primal Scream
Released 23 September 1991
Recorded 1990–91
  • Jam Studios, Townhouse Studios, Bark Studios, and Olympic Studios, London
  • Eden Studios, Chiswick
  • Primal Scream's studio, Hackney
  • Alternative rock
  • alternative dance
  • neo-psychedelia
Length 62:31
  • Creation
  • Sire
  • Andrew Weatherall
  • Hugo Nicholson
  • The Orb
  • Hypnotone
  • Jimmy Miller
Primal Scream chronology
Primal Scream
Give Out But Don't Give Up
Singles from Screamadelica
  1. "Loaded"
    Released: February 1990
  2. "Come Together"
    Released: August 1990
  3. "Higher Than the Sun"
    Released: June 1991
  4. "Don't Fight It, Feel It"
    Released: August 1991
  5. "Movin' On Up"
    Released: October 1991 (United States)
  6. "Damaged"
    Released: August 1992 (Japan)


  "Screamadelica" is the third studio album by Scottish rock band Primal Scream. It was first released on 23 September 1991 in the United Kingdom by Creation Records and on 8 October 1991 in the United States by Sire records. The album marked a significant departure from the band's early indie rock sound, drawing inspiration from the blossoming house music scene and associated drugs such as LSD and MDMA.

"Screamadelica" was the band's first album to be a commercial success, peaking at number eight on the UK Albums Chart upon its release. It received positive reviews from critics, and has been frequently named one of the best albums of the 1990s in various polls. It won the first Mercury Music Prize in 1992, and has sold over three million copies worldwide.




Drawing inspiration from the house music scene, which was blossoming at the time, the band enlisted house DJs Andrew Weatherall and Terry Farley on producing duties, although the album also contains a wide range of other influences including gospel and dub.

Although the band wrote a track also called "Screamadelica", it does not appear on the album. The ten-minute dance track was also produced by Andrew Weatherall and sung by Denise Johnson. It appears on the Dixie-Narco EP, released in 1992, and is featured in the opening credits of the now rare "Screamadelica" VHS video tape.

The album includes "Loaded", which was a top twenty hit single in the UK. Dance DJ Andrew Weatherall began remixing "I'm Losing More Than I'll Ever Have", from their previous album, and the resulting track disassembled the song, adding a drum loop from an Italian bootleg mix of Edie Brickell's "What I Am" and a sample from the Peter Fonda B-movie The Wild Angels. The single "Movin' on Up" was the band's breakthrough hit in the United States, reaching number 2 on the Modern Rock tracks chart, and also making number 28 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

"Screamadelica" was influenced by the Beach Boys' album "Pet Sounds" (1966). The band's Bobby Gillespie says that after discovering the album, their songs became much softer.



"Screamadelica" was among ten album covers chosen by the Royal Mail for a set of "Classic Album Cover" postage stamps issued in January 2010.


Critical reception

Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
AllMusic 5/5 stars
Encyclopedia of Popular Music 5/5 stars
Entertainment Weekly B+
Los Angeles Times 3/4 stars
Mojo 4/5 stars
NME 10/10
Pitchfork 9.0/10
The Rolling Stone Album Guide 3/5 stars
Select 5/5
Uncut 5/5 stars

"Screamadelica" was well received by critics. In a contemporary review for Spin, Simon Reynolds found the record "totally mind-blowing" whose best songs were "almost unclassifiable". AllMusic writer Stephen Thomas Erlewine called Screamadelica "an album that transcends its time and influence." It was voted number 135 in Colin Larkin's All Time Top 100 Records 3rd Edition (2000). Pitchfork praised the album on their 2003 list of the "Top 100 albums of the '90s," saying: "Screamadelica's atmospheric and imaginative hybrid of past, present and future captured its moment in vivid color and splendor, and it still radiates with a kaleidoscopic glow."

In a 2009 review, the BBC hailed the album as "a solid gold classic." Robert Christgau of The Village Voice, on the other hand, assigned it a "neither" rating, indicating an album that does not warrant repeated listening despite coherent craft and one or two highlights.



  • The album won the first Mercury Music Prize in 1992.
  • It was Melody Maker's album of the year in 1991.
  • It was Select's album of the year in 1991.
  • In 1996, Select named it as the number 1 album of the 1990s.
  • NME placed it at no. 3 in its "Best Albums of 1991" list.
  • In 2003, NME placed it at no. 23 in its "100 Best Albums Ever" list. In 2006, the magazine also placed it at no. 15 in its "Greatest British Albums Ever" list.
  • NME also named it the "Druggiest Album Ever" in 2011.
  • In 2000, Q placed the album at number 18 on their list of the "100 Greatest British Albums." In 2001, Q placed it at number 81 on a list of the "Top 100 Albums of All Time." The album ranked number 2 in Q's "Best 50 Albums of Q's Lifetime" list.
  • In 2003, Pitchfork placed it at number 77 in a list of the "Top 100 Albums of the '90s."
  • Also in 2003, the album topped The Scotsman's list of 100 Best Scottish Albums.
  • It appeared in Channel 4's list of the "100 Greatest Albums of All Time."
  • According to Acclaimed Music, a site which uses statistics to numerically represent critical reception, Screamadelica is the 84th most acclaimed album of all time, and the 11th most acclaimed of the 1990s.

"Movin' on Up" was used on the previous Telewest Broadband commercials before Virgin Media bought them out. Subsequently, Bacardi Spirits used the song on a UK television ad. The song was also featured in the popular game Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas on alternative radio station Radio X. A Northern soul version was also recorded by Edwin Starr for the cult British surfing film Blue Juice.

Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo of French electronic duo Daft Punk, who drew inspiration from the rock and acid house in the United Kingdom during the early 1990s, referred to Screamadelica as the record that "put everything together in terms of genre".