The Prodigy - Experience

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

The Prodigy - Experience
Studio album by The Prodigy
Released 28 September 1992
  • Earthbound Studios
  • The Strongroom
Genre Rave, breakbeat hardcore
Length 59:28
  • XL
  • Elektra
Producer Liam Howlett
The Prodigy chronology
What Evil Lurks
Music For the Jilted Generation
Singles from Experience
  1. "Charly"
    Released: 12 August 1991
  2. "Everybody in the Place"
    Released: 23 December 1991
  3. "Fire/Jericho"
    Released: 14 September 1992
  4. "Out of Space"
    Released: 9 November 1992
  5. "Wind it Up (Rewound)"
    Released: 5 April 1993


  "Experience" is the debut studio album by English electronic dance music band The Prodigy. It was first released on 28 September 1992 through XL Recordings.

Apart from Liam Howlett, who is responsible for all the compositions, out of the additional three members at that time, only Maxim Reality provides contribution by performing the vocals on the last track. A wide variety of artists in the breakbeat hardcore scene in the early 1990s are given respect and namechecked in the sleeve notes of the album, including SL2, Carl Cox, Moby, Tim Westwood, Orbital and Alphex Twin.

Experience peaked at No. 12 in the UK Albums Chart.



Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
Allmusic 5/5 stars
Entertainment Weekly B
Robert Christgau (2-star Honorable Mention)
Q 3/5 stars
Record Collector 4/5 stars
Spin 9/10 stars

Experience was well received. AllMusic gave the album 5 out of 5 stars, saying that it "shows the Prodigy near the peak of their game from the get go" and stating that "almost every song sounds like a potential chart topper".

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Liam Howlett. 

No. Title Length
1. "Jericho"   3:42
2. "Music Reach" (1/2/3/4) 4:12
3. "Wind it Up"   4:33
4. "Your Love" (Remix) 5:30
5. "Hyperspeed" (G-Force Part 2) 5:16
6. "Charly" (Trip into Drum and Bass Version) 5:12
7. "Out of Space"   4:57
8. "Everybody in the Place" (155 and Rising) 4:10
9. "Weather Experience"   8:06
10. "Fire" (Sunrise Version) 4:57
11. "Ruff in the Jungle Bizness"   5:10
12. "Death of the Prodigy Dancers" (Live) 3:43



  • Liam Howlett – production, keyboards, synthesizers, sampling, programming, engineering
  • Maxim Reality – vocals on "Death Of The Prodigy Dancers (Live)"
  • Simone – vocals on "Music Reach (1/2/3/4)", "Ruff In The Jungle Bizness" and "Rip Up The Sound System" (non-album song)
  • Alex Garland – artwork
  • Mike Champion – management


Weekly charts

Chart (1992-93) Peak
Dutch Albums (MegaCharts) 20
French Albums (SNEP) 59
German Albums (Offizielle Top 100) 75
UK Albums (OCC) 12


Region Certification Certified units/Sales
Poland (ZPAV) Gold 50,000*
United Kingdom (BPI) Platinum 300,000^

*sales figures based on certification alone
^shipments figures based on certification alone



The Progigy - Experience

UK XL XLLP 110 (1992) double album

The 2 x vinyl records together with their packaging are new and unplayed, and therefore graded as mint.

Browse this category: Breakbeat/House/Electronic Dance