Simple Minds - New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Simple Minds - New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
Studio album by Simple Minds
Released 13 September 1982
Recorded 1982
  • New wave
  • synthpop
  • art pop
Length 44:59
Label Virgin
Producer Peter Walsh
Simple Minds chronology
New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
Sparkle in the Rain
Simple Minds studio albums chronology
Sons and Facination/Sister Feelings Call
New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
Sparkle in the Rain


  "New Gold Dream (81–82–83–84)" is the fifth studio album by Scottish rock band Simple Minds. The album was released in September 1982 by record label Virgin, and was a turning point for the band as they gained critical and commercial success in the UK and Europe.



"New Gold Dream" originated in Simple Minds' unexpected popular and commercial success during an Australian tour with Icehouse, following the release of "Sons and Facination". The band was prompted by this experience to write "Promised You a Miracle" upon their return to Europe.

Speaking to journalist David Stubbs in 2012, singer Jim Kerr recalled the production of the album as a wonderful time during the late spring and early summer of 1982 in which "everything we tried worked":

"There were no arguments. We were in love with what we were doing, playing it, listening to it. You don't get many periods in your life when it all goes your way.”



Released in September 1982, the album made No. 3 in the UK Albums Chart. In the US, A&M issued some limited edition translucent gold with maroon colored marble vinyl pressings of the album.

The record generated a handful of singles: "Promised You a Miracle" (released in April 1982), "Glittering Prize" (August 1982) and "Someone Somewhere in the Summertime" (November 1982). The title track saw a limited release in Italy, when the band visited the country during their tour in March 1983. In addition, the jazz keyboardist Herbie Hancock performed a synthesizer solo on the track "Hunter and the Hunted."


Critical reception


Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
AllMusic 4.5/5 stars
Encyclopedia of Popular Music 4/5 stars
The Great Rock Discography 8/10
Mojo 4/5 stars
Q 4/5 stars
Record Collector 5/5 stars
Rolling Stone 3/5 stars
Smash Hits 8/10
Uncut 5/5 stars
The Village Voice C+

David Stubbs has placed the album alongside ABC's "The Lexicon of Love" and The Associates' Sulk, a group of albums he has described as the "zenith" of pop music.

The album was included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

"Every band or artist with a history has an album that's their holy grail," said Jim Kerr. "I suppose New Gold Dream was ours. It was a special time because we were really beginning to break through with that record, both commercially and critically. The people that liked that record connected with it in a special way. There was a depth to it: it created its own mythology. It stood out. It was our most successful record to date and, critically, the Paul Morley's of this world were writing very nice things about it."


Track listing

All tracks written by Simple Minds.

Side A
No. Title Length
1. "Someone Somewhere in Summertime" 4:36
2. "Colours Fly and Catherine Wheel" 3:49
3. "Promised You a Miracle" 4:28
4. "Big Sleep" 5:00
5. "Somebody Up There Likes You" 5:02
Side B
No. Title Length
6. "New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)" 5:39
7. "Glittering Prize" 4:33
8. "Hunter and the Hunted" 5:55
9. "King Is White and in the Crowd" 7:00




Simple Minds

  • Jim Kerr – lead vocals
  • Charlie Burchill – guitars and effects
  • Michael MacNeil – keyboards and effects
  • Derek Forbes – bass guitar

Additional musicians

  • Mel Gaynor – drums (tracks: 1, 4, 6–9)
  • Mike Ogletree – drums (tracks: 2, 5, 6)
  • Kenny Hyslop – drums (track: 3)
  • Sharon Campbell – girl's voice (tracks: 1, 7)
  • Herbie Hancock – guest keyboardist (track: 8)




Chart (1982) Peak
Australia (Kent Music Report) 8
Netherlands (Dutch Top 40) 31
New Zealand (RIANZ) 2
UK (OCC) 3
Chart (2016) Peak
Belgian Albums (Ultratop Flanders) 40
Belgian Albums (Ultratop Wallonia) 21
Dutch Albums (MegaCharts) 65
German Albums (Offizielle Top 100) 47
New Zealand Heatseekers Albums (RMNZ) 10
Scottish Albums (OCC) 10
UK Albums (OCC) 47




Simple Minds - New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)

UK Virgin V 2230 stereo (1982).

Album produced by Peter Walsh.

The vinyl record has remained in excellent condition.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are free from tears, stains or stickers.

The album cover is in excellent condition, displaying some minor signs of wear.

Browse these categories as well: Progressive & Classic Rock Albums, Synth' Pop Albums