Pete Townshend and Ronnie Lane - Rough Mix

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Pete Townshend and Ronnie Lane - Rough Mix
PeteTownshendRonnieLane RoughMix.jpg
Studio album by Pete Townshend and Ronnie Lane
Released 16 September 1977
Recorded Winter 1976 and Spring 1977
Studio Olympic Studios, London
Genre Rock, folk rock
Length 41:34
Label MCA (US)
Polydor (UK)
Producer Glyn Johns
Pete Townshend chronology
With Love
Rough Mix
Empty Glass
Ronnie Lane chronology
Mahoney's Last Stand
(with Ron Wood)
Rough Mix
See Me


  "Rough Mix" is an album by the Who's guitarist Pete Townshend and former Small Faces and Faces bassist Ronnie Lane.

The album was released in September 1977 as Polydor 2442 in the UK and MCA 2295 in the US. The album peaked at number 44 on the UK album chart, and at number 45 on the Billboard 200.



On 21 October 1976, the Who closed a brief North American tour in Toronto at Maple Leaf Gardens, a show that would be the last with Keith Moon before a paying audience. The Who's band members then took a hiatus to pursue various individual interests.

Pete Townshend had been initially contacted by Ronnie Lane to produce his next album, the project instead turning into a full-blown collaboration between the pair. Lane expressed an interest in a songwriting collaboration but Townshend, who has very rarely co-written songs, was unwilling. The instrumental title track is credited to both musicians, however.

During the recording of Rough Mix, Lane's multiple sclerosis was diagnosed (in one instance, Lane had an emotional issue related to his MS that caused an argument between him and an unknowing Townshend). Nonetheless Lane toured, wrote and recorded (with Eric Clapton among others) and in 1979 released another album, "See Me", which features several songs written by Lane and Clapton. Around this time Lane travelled the highways and byways of England and lived a 'passing show' modern nomadic life in full Gypsy traveller costume and accommodation.

The album featured songs written by both principals in a vein less like that of the Who or the Faces but instead close to the British folk rock vogue of the early 1970s among various English bands.

A number of famous colleagues appeared on the recording, among them Eric Clapton, fellow member of the Who John Entwistle, Ian Stewart, and Charlie watts. Orchestral arrangements for the track "Street in the City" were provided by Townshend's father-in-law, noted British film and television theme composer Edwin Astley.



Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
AllMusic 4/5 stars
Robert Christgau A–
MusicHound 3.5/5 stars
The Rolling Stone Album Guide 3.5/5 stars
Virgin Encyclopedia of Popular Music 4/5 stars








Track listing

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "My Baby Gives It Away" Pete Townshend 4:02
2. "Nowhere to Run" Ronnie lane 3:17
3. "Rough Mix" Townshend, Lane 3:12
4. "Annie" Lane, Kit Lambert, Eric Clapton 2:56
5. "Keep Me Turning" Townshend 3:46
6. "Catmelody" Lane, Kit Lambert 3:12
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Misunderstood" Townshend 3:01
2. "April Fool" Lane 3:34
3. "Street in the City" Townshend 6:07
4. "Heart to Hang Onto" Townshend 4:29
5. "Till the Rivers All Run Dry" Don Williams, Wayland Holyfield 3:54





  • Ronnie Lane and Pete Townshend – vocals, guitars, electric guitars, mandolins, bass guitars, banjos, ukuleles
  • Charlie Watts – drums on "My Baby Gives It Away" and "Catmelody"
  • Edwin Astley – orchestrations on "Street in the City"
  • John "Rabbit" Bundrick – organ, Fender Rhodes on "Nowhere to Run", "Rough Mix", "Keep Me Turning" and "Heart to Hang Onto"
  • Boz Burrell – bass guitar on "Heart to Hang Onto" and "Till the Rivers All Run Dry"
  • Mel Collins – saxophones on "Catmelody"
  • Eric Clapton – guitars, Dobro on "Rough Mix", "Annie", "April Fool" and "Till the Rivers All Run Dry"
  • Julian Diggle – percussion on "Misunderstood"
  • John Entwistle – horns on "Heart to Hang Onto" and vocal help on "Till the Rivers All Run Dry"
  • Peter Hope Evans – harmonica on "Nowhere to Run" and "Misunderstood"
  • Benny Gallagher – accordian on "Annie"
  • Tony Gilbert – orchestral leader on "Street in the City"
  • Chris Green – principal cello on "Street in the City"
  • Charlie Hart – violin on "Annie"
  • Chris Laurence – principal bass on "Street in the City"
  • Graham Lyle – twelve-string guitar on "Annie"
  • Dave Markee – double bass on "Annie" and "April Fool"
  • Billy Nichols – vocal help on "Till the Rivers All Run Dry"
  • Steve Shingles – principal viola on "Street in the City"
  • Henry Spinetti – drums on "Nowhere to Run", "Rough Mix", "Keep Me Turning", "Heart to Hang Onto" and "Till the Rivers All Run Dry"
  • Ian Stewart – piano on "Catmelody"
  • Charles Vorsanger – principal second violin on "Street in the City"




Pete Townshend and Ronnie Lane - Rough Mix

UK Polydor 2442 147 stereo (1977).

Album produced by Glyn Johns.

The vinyl record attains a strong excellent grading, suggesting few plays.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are free from tears, stains or stickers.

The albums hinged cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minimal signs of wear.

The album cover has a strong hinge and spine, displaying very clear, printed script.

Browse this category: Progressive & Classic Rock Albums