The Jam - In the City

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

The Jam - In the City
The Jam - In the City.jpg
Studio album by
 The Jam
Released 20 May 1977
Recorded March 1977
Studio Stratford Place, London, W1
  • Mod revival
  • punk rock
Length 32:02
Label Polydor
  • Vic Coppersmith-Heaven
  • Chris Parry
The Jam chronology
  In the City
This Is the Modern World
Singles from In the City
  1. "In the City"
    Released: 29 April 1977


  "In the City" is the debut studio album by British mod revival band the Jam. Released in 1977 upon Polydor Records, the album reached No. 20 in the UK Albums Chart.

The album features the band's debut single and title track "In the City". In addition, the album includes two cover versions, "Slow Down" and the theme to the 1960s television series, Batman, the latter of which had also been previously covered by The Who, The Kinks and Link Wray.



Critical reception

Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
AllMusic 4.5/5 stars
Christgau's Record Guide A–
Encyclopedia of Popular Music 4/5 stars
Pitchfork 8.5/10
Q 4/5 stars
The Rolling Stone Album Guide 4/5 stars
Spin Alternative Record Guide 8/10
The Village Voice A−

Upon the album's release, In the City received all-round positive reviews. Phil McNeil from the NME stated Weller's songwriting "captures that entire teen frustration vibe with the melodic grace and dynamic aplomb of early Kinks and Who". Brian Harrigan of Melody Maker was equally impressed, proclaiming that "Weller composed songs are anything but an embarrassment, he has a deft touch that places his material on a much higher plateau". In the Record Mirror, Barry Cain opined: "Armed and extremely dangerous The Jam stalk the decrepit grooves. If you don't like them, hard luck they're gonna be around for a long time. It's been a long time since albums actually reflected pre-20 delusions and this one does".

Weller's guitar style on the album is influenced by Pete Townshend and Wilko Johnson.



Track listing

All tracks written by Paul Weller, unless otherwise noted..

Side one
No. Title Length
1. "Art School" 2:02
2. "I've Changed My Address" 3:31
3. "Slow Down" (Larry Williams) 2:39
4. "I Got By in Time" 2:07
5. "Away from the Numbers" 4:03
6. "Batman Theme" (Neal Hefti) 1:31
Side two
No. Title Length
1. "In the City" 2:19
2. "Sounds from the Street" 3:14
3. "Non-Stop Dancing" 2:28
4. "Time for Truth" 3:10
5. "Takin' My Love" 2:15
6. "Bricks and Mortar" 2:37
Total length: 32:02




The Jam
  • Paul Weller – vocals, guitars
  • Bruce Foxton – bass, vocals
  • Rick Buckler – drums
  • Bill Smith – art direction, design
  • Martyn Goddard – front cover photography




The Jam - In the City

UK Polydor Records 2383 447 stereo (1977).

Album produced by Vic Coppersmith-Heaven

The vinyl record attains a strong excellent grading, suggesting few plays.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean, unmarked, and free from tears, stains or stickers.

The album cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minimal signs of wear.

The album cover has a strong, undamaged spine, displaying very clear printed script.

Browse these categories as well: Hard Rock/Metal/Punk Albums, Progressive & Classic Rock Albums