Deep Purple - Perfect Strangers

Deep Purple - Perfect Strangers

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Perfect Strangers
Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple album - cover art).jpg
Studio album by Deep Purple
Released 29 October 1984
Recorded August 1984 at "Horizons" in Stowe, Vermont, USA
Genre Hard rock
Length 39:28 (Original LP)
44:13 (Original CD)
54:15 (1999 CD re-issue)
Label Polydor (UK)
Mercury records (US)
Producer Roger Glover
& Deep Purple
Deep Purple chronology
Come Taste the Band
Perfect Strangers
The House of Blue Light


  "Perfect Strangers" is the eleventh studio album by Deep Purple, released in October 1984. It represents the first album recorded by the reformed (as well as the most successful and popular), Mark II line-up.

It was the first Deep Purple studio album in nine years, and the first with the Mk II line-up for eleven years, the last being "Who Do You Think We Are" in 1973. Ritchie Blackmore and Roger Glover arrived from Rainbow, Ian Gillen from Black Sabbath, Jon Lord from Whitesnake, and Ian Paice from Gary Moore's backing band.

The CD and cassette versions of the album contained the extra track "Not Responsible". The album was remastered and reissued on 22 June 1999 with the bonus instrumental track "Son of Alerik". The latter had previously been available as a B-side on "Perfect Strangers" in 1984.

The tour was so successful that the band had to add many additional dates to the US arena tour, as tickets sold out very quickly. Their US tour in 1985 out-grossed every artist that year except Bruce Springsteen.


Critical reception

Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
Allmusic 2/5 stars
Rolling Stone 2/5 stars
Sputnik Music 4/5 stars

Deborah Frost of Rolling Stone gave it a review of two out of five stars, remarking that "the material consists of hastily knocked-off jams". The review also stated that "Blackmore's Strat' has such a great roar that you're willing to just let it reverberate in your eardrums for a bit. And it's nice to hear Jon Lord's synthesized organ squalls, Ian Paice's electrifying drumming, Ian Gillan's howls and whispers and Roger Glover's solid bass lines once again."


Track listing

All songs by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan and Roger Glover except where noted. "Not Responsible" was originally cassette and CD only, not on vinyl LP. "Son of Alerik" was not on original cassette, vinyl or CD release; used as an edited 7" B-side, or full version on the 12" of the "Perfect Strangers" single.

Side one  
No. Title Length  
1. "Knocking at Your Back Door"   7:09
2. "Under the Gun"   4:40
3. "Nobody's Home" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Jon Lord, Ian Paice) 4:01
4. "Mean Streak"   4:26
Side two  
No. Title Length  
5. "Perfect Strangers"   5:31
6. "A Gypsy's Kiss"   5:14
7. "Wasted Sunsets"   3:58
8. "Hungry Daze"   5:01


  • Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
  • Jon Lord – organ, keyboards
  • Ian Paice – drums
  • Ian Gillen – vocals
  • Roger Glover – bass, synthesizer


Production notes

  • Recorded at "Horizons", Stowe, Vermont with Le Mobile Studio, 1984
  • Mixed at Tennessee Tonstudio, Hamburg, Germany
  • Engineered by Nick Blagona
  • Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, New York
  • Produced by Roger Glover and Deep Purple




Sales accomplishments

Region Certification Sales/shipments
Argentina (CAPIF) Gold 30,000x
Canada (Music Canada) Platinum 100,000^
Germany (BVMI) Gold 250,000^
United Kingdom (BPI) Gold 100,000^
United States (RIAA) Platinum 1,000,000^

^shipments figures based on certification alone



Publication Country Accolade Year Rank
Kerrang! United Kingdom "End of Year Lists – Top Album of 1984" 1984 7



Deep Purple - Perfect Strangers

UK Polydor POLH 16 stereo (1984)

Album produced by Roger Glover and Deep Purple.

The vinyl record attains a strong excellent grading, indicating very few plays.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean and unmarked.

The album cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minimal signs of wear.

The original inner sleeve is perfectly presented.

The album cover has a strong spine, displaying clear, printed script.

Browse these categories as well: Hard Rock/Metal/Punk Albums, Progressive & Classic Rock Albums