Various Artists - Gordon's War (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Gordon's War - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Gordons war poster 01.jpg
Directed by Ossie Davis
Produced by Robert Schaffel
Written by Howard Friedlander & Ed Spielman
Starring Paul Winfield
Music by Angelo Badalamenti (as Andy Badale), Al Elias
Cinematography Victor J. Kemper
Palomar Pictures
Distributed by 20th Century Fox
Release date
  • August 9, 1973
Running time
90 minutes
Country United States
Language English
Budget $1.6 million
Box office $1,250,000 (US/ Canada rentals)


  "Gordon's War" is a 1973 action film written by Howard Friedlander and Ed Spielman, and directed by Ossie Davis. It stars Paul Winfield as Gordon Hudson.



A Vietnam veteran returns home to find drug dealers and addicts now rule his old neighborhood, and that even his own wife has fallen victim to drugs. Together with three of his buddies from Vietnam, he fights back.



  • Paul Winfield - Gordon Hudson
  • Carl Lee - Bee Bishop
  • David Downing - Otis Russell
  • Tony King - Roy Green
  • Gilbert Lewis - Spanish Harry
  • Carl Gordon - Luther the Pimp
  • Nathan Heard - Big Pink
  • Grace Jones - Mary
  • Jackie Page - Bedroom Girl
  • Chuck Bergansky - Caucasian killer
  • Adam Wade - Hustler
  • Hansford Rowe - Dog Salesman
  • Warren Taurien - Goose
  • Ralph Wilcox - Black hit man
  • David Connell - Hotel Proprieter
  • Rochelle LeNoir - Gordon's wife
  • Charles McGregor - Drug dealer on subway station platform



The music heard throughout the film has become a well-respected album in its own right, performed by Badder Than Evil, Barbara Mason, New Birth and Sister Goose And The Ducklings.

The most of songs were composed and performed by Badder Than Evil, a funk / R&B project of Albert Sahley Elias (credited as Al Elias) and Angelo Badalamenti (credited as Andy Badale). Their track Hot Wheels (the chase) has been sampled by scores of artists including Public Ememy, Coldcut and Blade.


Track listing:

Side One

* Child of Tomorrow - sung by Barbara Mason (3:45)

* Just Plain Luther (3:45)

* He'll Be There (5:03)

* Roberta's Theme (2:36)

* Harlem Dreams (5:02)


Side Two

* Come On and Dream Some Paradise - sung by New Birth (4:04)

* Tell That Man to Go to Hell (5:07)

* Child of Tomorrow (1:19)

* Super Shine #9 - sung by Sister Goose and the Ducklings (2:43)

* Hot Wheels (The Chase) (2:59)

* Child of Tomorrow - sung by Barbara Mason (2:00)




Various Artists - Gordon's War (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

U.S. Buddah BDA 5137 stereo (1973).

This record for sale is a modern repress of the soundtrack album first released in 1973.

The vinyl record attains a Mint- grading, suggesting very few plays.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean, unmarked, and free from tears, stains or stickers.

The album cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minimal signs of wear.

Browse these categories as well: Funk-Soul & Motown Albums, Film, Stage & TV Soundtracks (OST)