Paul Humphrey - Paul Humphrey and the Cool Aid Chemists

Paul Humphrey - Paul Humphrey and the Cool Aid Chemists

Still in stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Old price £44.99
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Paul Nelson Humphrey (born October 12, 1935, Detriot, Michigan, United States) is an American jazz and funk/R&B drummer.

He worked as a session drummer in the 1960s for jazz artists such as Wes Montgomery, Les McCann, Kai Winding, Jimmy Smith, Charles Mingus, Lee Konitz, Blue Mitchell and Gene Ammons.

As a bandleader, he recorded under the name Paul Humphrey and the Cool Aid Chemists, with keyboardist Clarence MacDonald, guitarist David T. Walker, and bassist Bill Upchurch. In 1971, this ensemble had two hits, "Cool Aid" (US #29, US R&B Singles #14) and "Funky L.A." (US R&B Singles #45). He also recorded an album as head of the Paul Humphrey Sextet in 1981.

Humphrey was one of the drummers on Marvin Gaye's album "Let's Get It On".

He also recorded with Steely Dan, Frank Zappa, Jerry Garcia, Jimmy Smith, The Four Tops, Al Kooper, Jackie DeShannon, Natalie Cole, Albert King, Quincy Jones, Dusty Springfield, Jean-Luc Ponty, Michael Franks, Maria Muldaur, Marc Bolan and others.

Humphrey also was the featured drummer for both the Lawrence Welk orchestra and television show from 1976 to 1982. He and his wife Joan are the parents of two children, Pier and Damien, who appeared with their father on the Welk show's annual Christmas episode.




As leader

  • Paul Humphrey and the Cool Aid Chemists (Lizard, 1969) No. 170, R&B Albums No. 31
  • "Detroit" b/w "Cool Aid" (Lizard, 1969) 45 rpm, 2:31
  • Supermellow (Blue Thumb, 1973)
  • America, Wake Up (Blue Thumb, 1973)
  • Paul Humphrey Sextet (Discovery, 1981)


Track Listing:

Side 1.

* Cool Aid (2:40)

* Them Changes (3:20)

* Sack Full of Dreams (3:25)

* Music Talk (4:15)

* Something (2:20)


Side 2.

* Baby Rice (2:54)

* Detroit (2:31)

* Ain't That Peculiar (2:55)

* Dreams (3:06)

* Funky L.A. (2:59)




Paul Humphrey - Paul Humphrey and the Cool Aid Chemists

U.S. Lizard A 20106 stereo (1969).

Album produced by Gabriel Mekler.

The vinyl record attains a strong excellent grading, suggesting few plays.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean, unmarked, and free from tears, stains or stickers.

The album cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minimal signs of wear.

The album cover has a strong, undamaged spine, displaying very clear, printed script.

Browse this category: Funk-Soul & Motown Albums