The Detroit Spinners - The Original Spinners

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

The Detroit Spinners - The Original Spinners
The Original spinners album.jpg
Studio album by
 The Spinners
Released August 1967
Recorded Spring 1961 - Summer 1967
Genre R&B
Length 32:24
Label Motown
Producer Harvey Fuqua, Ivy Jo Hunter, William Stevenson, Smokey Robinson, Berry Gordy
The Spinners chronology
  The Original Spinners
2nd Time Around
Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
Allmusic 3/5 stars


  "The Original Spinners" (released in the UK as "The Detroit Spinners") is the 1967 debut album by The Spinners for Motown Records. The LP includes the group's earliest singles on the label (such as Top 20 R&B hits "I'll Always Love You" and "Truly Yours"), as well as their first ever single "That's What Girls Are Made For" (which was released on the already defunct Tri-Phi Record label). None of the group's other material from Tri-Phi appear on this album.

The lineup on the cover features Bobby Smith, Edgar "Chico" Edwards, Henry Fambrough, Billy Henderson, and Pervis Jackson. Former member George Dixon (who is not pictured on the album because of his departure back in 1963) actually only appears on "That's What Girls Are Made For", The other tracks all feature Edwards. This is both Dixon's and Edwards' only appearance on an Spinners studio album (Edwards would leave the group soon after this production of this album was completed).

The album notes state that members Bobby Smith and Edgar "Chico" Edwards shares most of the lead vocals on stage. However other than "Tomorrow May Never Come", where he does the lead vocal in unison with Smith (who also leads all the remaining tracks on this album) and Henry Fambrough, Edwards does not have any other leads on this album.

Track listing

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Thats What Girls Are Made For" Harvey Fuqua, Gwen Gordy Fuqua 2:57
2. "Ill Always Love You" William Stevenson, Ivy Jo Hunter 2:43
3. "Truly Yours" Ivy Jo Hunter, William "Mickey" Stevenson 2:58
4. "For All We Know" Sam M. Lewis, J. Fred Coots 2:53
5. "It Hurts To Be in Love" Berry Gordy Jr., Robert Gordy 2:22
6. "Tomorrow May Never Come" Harvey Fuqua, Thomas Kemp 2:27
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
7. "Sweet Thing" William "Mickey" Stevenson 2:40
8. "I Cross My Heart" Ivy Jo Hunter 2:57
9. "Where Is That Girl" Harvey Fuqua, Johnny Bristol 2:59
10. "Like a Good Man Should" William Robinson, Warren Moore 2:15
11. "How Can I" Harvey Fuqua, Gwen Gordy Fuqua 2:38
12. "I Just Can't Help But Feel the Pain" Clyde Wilson, Harvey Fuqua 2:35



  • Bobby Smith: lead and background vocals
  • Henry Fambrough: lead ("Tomorrow May Never Come") and background vocals
  • Billy Henderson: background vocals
  • Pervis Jackson: background vocals
  • Edgar "Chico" Edwards: lead ("Tomorrow May Never Come") and background vocals (all tracks except "That's What Girls Are Made For")
  • George Dixon: background vocals ("That's What Girls Are Made For" only)
  • The Andantes (Jackie Hicks, Marlene Barrow, and Louvain Demps): background vocals (some tracks)
  • Harvey Fuqua: producer, album producer
  • Ivy Jo Hunter, William Stevenson: producer, album producer
  • Berry Gordy Jr.: producer
  • Smokey Robinson: producer
  • The Funk Brothers: instrumentation



Year Single Peak chart positions
1961 "That's What Girls Are For" 27 5
1965 "I'll Always Love You" 35 8
1966 "Truly Yours" 111 16




Detroit Spinners - The Original Spinners

U.S. Motown Records M5-132V1 stereo (1981) 2nd U.S. press.

This record for sale is a 1981 second pressing of the album first released in 1967.

The vinyl record has remained in excellent condition.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean, unmarked, and free from tears, stains or stickers.

The album cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minor signs of wear.

The album cover has been clipped towards the upper right corner, (see scan) to denote the record's tax status.

The original company inner sleeve is excellently presented, and also clipped to denote the record's tax status.

Browse this category: Funk-Soul & Motown Albums