Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

  1. Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear
    1976 LP album cover
    Studio album by Tangerine Dream
    Released October 1976
    Recorded August 1976 at the Audio Studios, Berlin, Germany.
    Genre Electronic music, Ambient
    Length 35:39
    Label Virgin
    Producer Tangering Dream
    Tangerine Dream chronology
    Professional ratings
    Review scores
    Source Rating
    AllMusic 4.5/5 stars


  2. "Stratosfear" is the eighth album by the German group Tangerine Dream. It marks the beginning of the band's development away from their uncompromising early 1970s synthesizer experiments toward a recognizably more melodic sound, a trend they would pick up again in 1979's "Force Majeure". The title track "Stratosfear" has been played live many times and has been released in a re-mixed form on a number of other albums.

    • Edgar Froese – Moog synthesizer, Mellotron, guitars, 12-string guitar, grand piano, bass guitar, mouth organ
    • Peter Baumann – Moog synthesizer, Mellotron, Projekt Elektronik Rhythm Computer (modular synthesizer), Fender electric piano
    • Christopher Franke – Moog synthesizer, Birotron, organ, percussion, harpsichord
    • "Stratosfear" – "The Big Sleep In Search Of Hades"

"Stratosfear" combines Tangerine Dream's acoustic and electronic influences more tightly than before. For instance, at the end of the last track, "Invisible Limits", the deep piano/flute tune reveals the album's romantic flavour even after the earlier predominantly synthetic compositions (tracks #1 to last part of track #4).

The LP reached No.39 in the UK, in a 4-week chart run, and eventually reached silver status for selling in excess of 60,000 copies (£100,000+).

Nick Mason of Pink Floyd did the original mix of Stratosfear in April 1976 at Hansa By the Wall. Due to disputes between Tangerine Dream and Virgin, this mix was abandoned.


Track listing
No. Title Length
1. "Stratosfear"   10:04
2. "The Big Sleep in Search of Hades"   4:45
3. "3 A.M. at the Border of the Marsh From Okefenokee"   8:10
4. "Invisible Limits"   11:40





Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear

UK Virgin V 2068 stereo (1976).

Album produced by Tangerine Dream.

The vinyl record attains a strong excellent grading, suggesting few plays.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean and unmarked.

The albums hinged cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minimal signs of wear.

The album cover has a strong hinge and spine, displaying very clear printed script.

Browse this category: Synth' Pop Albums